College Football National Championship


Riley Thompson, Digital Media Editor

The college Football Championship ended on Janurary 9th with The Georgia Bulldogs dominating Texas Christian University 65-7. This would make Georgia the first college football team to win back-to-back national titles since 2012 where Kirby Smart served as the defensive coordinator under head coach Nick Saban. 

Georgia’s quarterback, Stetson Bennet, had an outrageous performance throwing 4 touchdowns and running for two more. Bennet finished the game 18 for 25 with 304 passing yards and left the game with 13 minutes remaining in the final quarter where Carson Beck took over for Bennet and continued the onslaught. 

Bennet’s postgame interviews with ESPN were full of emotion such as when he told the reporter, “I don’t know. I’m just trying to see everybody for the last time, you know, hug everybody.” Trying to keep his composure, he went to celebrate his final national championship title. 

Bennet wasn’t the only player who had an exceptional game however. Georgia’s Ladd McConkey, a sophomore receiver, had 2 touchdown grabs. One of these touchdowns was a wide open, 37-yard reception that was the first 6 of 55 consecutive points that Georgia would score. Also, Georgia’s Brock Bowers had an exceptional game with a touchdown catch and 152 yards receiving. Bowers was named the national player of the year at his position.

Though Georgia hammered TCU, TCU still kept their composure and took the defeat and moved on. TCU’s head coach told a reporter in a post game conference, “We certainly didn’t play our best. You gotta give Georgia a ton of credit.” The 58-point margin win was also the largest since college football instituted an official championship game in 1998. Also, 65 points is the most points scored in a college championship game.